Aeolian Mode - The Natural Minor ScaleYou are now going to learn the Aeolian Mode of music. You will get a quick reference guide, plus a free chord chart of the Aeolian Mode.

The Aeolian Mode is more commonly called “the natural minor scale”, or simply “the minor scale” for short. But I call it the “the sad mode” because of its sad and emotional tone. It is the 6th mode of the major scale.

You can play this mode by starting on A, and play all white keys up to the A an octave above it. Let’s have a look at a quick overview guide of the Aeolian Mode.

Music Software Bundles from

The Aeolian Mode – Quick Guide

  • Mode Feeling: Sad, Emotional, Sentimental, Serious
  • Mode Pattern: R – W – h – W – W – h – W – W
  • Mode Formula: 1 – 2 – b3 – 4 – 5 – b6 – b7

A - Aeolian Mode

The Aeolian Mode – Chord Chart

These are all diatonic triads of the Aeolian Mode, plus the diatonic 7th chords in parenthesis.

  • I = minor (min 7)
  • II = diminished (m7b5)
  • III = Major (Maj 7)
  • IV = minor (min 7)
  • V = minor (min 7)
  • VI = Major (Maj 7)
  • VII = Major (Dom 7)

Quick Guides on All 7 Modes

PS. Here’s a link to a free printable modes chord chart.